Western Pennsylvania gold?

Hey guys. total newbie to the forum. I've talked to Rob a couple of times and am set on getting an exterra 705 real soon. I live in Western Pa along the Ohio line. I've been checking out a creek running through woods behind by house and have found very nice black sand and a small piece of quartz with a little gold on it. I've got a keene sluice and have made a nice self contained water recirculator with it. Am I just not in the right area to find quality gold? Would detecting help? I've got a GPAA chapter just about 10 miles away and they claim to have found gold on their property. I've just gotten started prospecting, but really don't want to waste time around my area if no real gold can be had. All comments welcome, you've got a great site guys, thanks!

Scott

There are some parts of Ohio with real fine sized glacial gold. Its pretty sparse and very vew pieces are large enough for a metal detector (even a VLF) to see. I'd say you are just not in a good part of the country for nuget detecting. Probably the best chance to find gold is in the form of jewelry at a park or school.

If you haven't seen it already this GPAA. Gold In Western PA! Lots of good info there and GPAA would probably be a good to join to see what's really up with prospecting in your area. There are 6 GPAA Chapters in PA so they must be finding something, the wives wouldn't let them old boys out of the house if they was just drinking beer and swapping lies.

Cen1,there probably is a Dept. of mines /or natural resources for Penn..check out that and any large university or public library...they would have reports and books on gold,also your local county historical society.Seems unlikely you find the only piece of quartz gold in the area :rolleyes: ..where's the rest of it? Is it glacial gold?........Dave

Hi cen1-