Getting back in.

After the crash I had to sell my ML 4000. Ready to get going again finally. I have seen great buys on used GPX5000 lately and now the GPX4500 is back. Is there really much difference in the two? I have seen 5000s go for as low as $2700 but was not ready to buy. Anyway I have gotten fatter and need to lose some weight and I know just the hobby to do that.

Welcome back, all I can say is people upgrade for a reason and the 5000 is an upgrade over the 4500. But the difference between the two is pretty small. The fine gold timing and custom setting sure make things nice and only come with the 5000. On the other hand a new 4500 and new warranty is nice as well.

AJ

• Admin

Hey Ringer,

I will give you my advice from a dealer and metal detectorist stand point. I have been using the Minelab metal detectors for over 20 years, been a dealer for about 17. Either of the GPX detectors you mentioned are great (GPX 4500 or GPX 5000). No question you will have a few more features on the GPX 5000 and an additional 11-inch coil. The GPX 5000 give you a few more timing options and more user control overall then the GPX 4500. That being said, new GPX 5000's are $5795.00. You can probably find a few used ones for $3000+ with minimal to no warranty.

The new deal on the GPX 4500, which is call the Univeral Package is awesome at $2699.00. Keep in mind, you also get the 15x12 Commander Mono, which is a bulletproof Minelab coil. This is a $350 value added into the price. You're really getting the detector for around $2350.00 if you take away the price of the coil.

For someone that is very experienced and spends the detailed time on the extra function will benefit. The question is how much over the GPX 4500, which is a question we really can't answer honestly.

I think some key points to figure are the following -