How is nugget hunting today? Help me get back into it!

I am surprised I still have my screen name, I haven't posted in what seems like forever!

I would like this year, to get back into gold mining, and learn how to nugget hunt with a metal detector.

I have some amateur experience with pans, sluices, dry washing and small dredges, and at one time got a mid range gold detector, a lobo supertraq that I started learning. However shortly after getting the detector I moved to Hawaii and the soil there is so volcanic and full of iron, I wasn't able to really get much practice in. Just a little at the beach, but this detector wasn't really set up for salt water either.

So while I may know some about how gold gets to where you find it, and have some places in mind I would like to go, I am a detector newbie.

I think more than anything, two things have changed since I thought about it last.

A. Gold was in the $300's last time I looked for it and it really wasn't easy to make a living doing it

B. I am hoping metal detector technology has improved. If I remember right, the Minelab sd series and the newer Gp3000 were THE detectors, so for those that could afford them and were looking for big nuggets deep.

So how are things these days?

Gold isn't at it's peak but it's not too bad compared to $330! And what is the best detectors and coils to use these days?

Are there new areas that are popular? I know once I get good enough, I need to discover new places, but where do people go these days to learn and have some hope for success? Is it still Arizona in the winter, Alaska in the summer if you can afford to get there, and random places like Rye Patch NV the rest of the year?

Where should I start planning my first trip after I get outfitted?